My Mini Me

Children are a reward

Have you ever heard your mother say “I hope when you have a child, they are just like you!” Kind of like her telling you, let’s see how you handle you. My mother said this to me all the time growing up.

God heard her cries and when my very last child was born, she not only looked like me, but as she grew I had come to find out she was indeed, the mini me my mother requested.

This child was very different from my other children.

Megan 1st BDay

She is sensitive, smart, compassionate, loving, caring, kind, tenderhearted, sentimental, strong, bold, brave, heart of gold, emotional, social butterfly, wears her heart on her sleeve, tends to follow her heart over her head.  If you are lucky enough to befriend her, she will fiercely fight for you. She fights against real or imagined wrongs.  She can be stubborn, bossy, moody, outspoken, and loud.  If you are her adversary watch out, she can crucify you with her tongue, she has no filter.  She speaks before thinking things through and **Warning** she can be very sarcastic. She is unique and she is MY daughter!

She is in fact a blessing, a lesson and a work in progress from God above. I am grateful and blessed God gave her to me.  Just like my other children, I fell completely in love with her the day she was born and I will love her completely until the end of eternity. That will never change.

Being the baby of the family (by 1 whole minute) she not only required extra attention, she demanded it.

Growing up for her wasn’t always easy.  Her issues stemmed from her father, and his rejection of her.  He couldn’t handle her. Her father played favorites and Megan’s twin sister was his favorite. Everyone knew it, everyone saw it. There was nothing that could be done about it.  Anytime Daddy went somewhere, he always took Kaylee.  He created the divide and as time passed the divide just widened. His standard excuse to me was I can’t handle them (Megan and Cory).  The final hurt for Megan I think was when we were getting divorced and he asked Kaylee to live with him, only Kaylee.  Kaylee didn’t go but the fact that he would single her out just furthered the hurt in Megan.

Nothing hurts a parent more than to see her child suffer and you can’t fix it. (At this time, get on your knees and PRAY)

The whole time she was growing up we were extremely close. She was my shadow. I tried to make up for his shortcomings with her.

Granted, we have had our ups and downs. Her emotions were usually all over the place. I could relate to her and understand her feelings better than she even realized.  I knew her insecurities. I felt the pain her father caused in her but I couldn’t change it. All I could try and do was love her through it. We are both head strong but we both love with everything we have inside us.  Sometimes, like me, Megan was her own worst enemy. Insecurities are a heavy bag to carry.  Without Jesus to release this inside us, it can cause us so much misery. It causes you to think things that may or may not be true. I can attest to the fact the devil plays on our insecurities.

God actually taught me so many things about myself through Megan.  Things I was happy about within myself and things I needed to change. That is the neat part about how God works, he can teach us lessons through our own children.  By giving us a child like ourselves, we can see our mirrored image. Maybe not completely alike, but close enough to teach us lessons about ourselves. Our children are a gift from God, our reward.

Megan went into the health field, she is a CNA and an amazing one at that.  She is a hard worker. She sees people at their worst and touches their lives.  She has watched people die, and comforted family. The gifts God has given her of compassion, sensitivity, love, kindness, tenderness and caring flow out of her at her job. She is such a blessing to so many! It touches my heart to see my children grow into such amazing talented loving adults. I give God ALL the glory for that.

I still can’t believe she is 25 and married, where does the time go?  She has a baby of her own and one on the way.  She is an amazing mother, the bond between her and her daughter reminds me of the way things were between her and I one time so long ago. A time that passes by so quickly. (Cherished memories now)  I couldn’t be more proud that she is living her dream and she is happy.

While I couldn’t be more happier for her, today, Megan and I are going through a new phase in this thing called life.  It seems everything that drew us together as she was growing up is now pulling  us apart. Sometimes the same qualities that can connect you at one point in your life, can end up dividing you at another. I’m going to call this time, a time of growth! I have left it in God’s hands now. I’m going to work on me and continually pray about it. I’m going to speak life into our relationship and let Jesus heal the rest.

Proverbs 18:21 (KJV)

21 Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Does Megan have a Mini Me?

I’m sure you are wondering if I ever wished a child on Megan that was just like her?  Why yes, yes I have!  We must keep the cycle of these precious children coming.  They are a gift, a lesson, a true blessing. They teach us things about ourselves that we don’t know and can’t see unless we have that child.  I do believe her daughter Danni is her Mini me, time will tell and I will be watching.

The biggest lesson they will teach us is Patience!

our children teach us

 

Proverbs 22:6 (KJV)

Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

End Note:  I am thankful  that my mother brought me up in church.  I may have stumbled off the path here and there.  I even wandered around in circles for several years from time to time (fighting the flesh is a full time job and it must be taken seriously) but God brought me back to him. I raised my children in church too, and although we moved around I know the foundation is there.

Never stop praying for your children or grandchildren.

May God Bless you with precious lessons from your children!

 

 

 

 

 

About asinnerneedinghersavior

I'm a Christian wife, Mother, and Grandmother. I love my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and want to share his word and my life lessons. Mark 16:15 (KJV) 15 And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.
This entry was posted in Family - Children and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

