Once saved, always saved?

Gods Remedy

Once saved, always saved? This has been an argument among Christians for a long time. This is also one that has been so heavy on my heart, as I had fallen away from Yahweh (God).

It’s not that I didn’t know Yahweh (God) or stopped believing in his son, Yahshua (Jesus Christ).  I did, I accepted him into my heart. I even let others know I loved him and they should too. I’d share Christ with others, I’d even let them know how much he loved them. However, like a rebellious child, my relationship grew cold and I picked and chose what seemed to matter to me.

After all, I told myself, I didn’t physically fight, sleep around, do drugs or murder anyone. I even did random “acts” of kindness.  I tried to be nice to everyone. In my lukewarm heart, I was satisfied I wasn’t a horrible person and that surely Yahweh (God) noticed I meant well. Little infractions here and there were part of fighting the flesh, right?  We were all imperfect.  The fact is I allowed sin, problems and distractions to come in between my relationship with Christ.  I lost my focus.

The answer to the question is no, once you are saved, you are not always saved. It’s a work in progress, always. Let me explain.

Hebrews 6:4-6 (KJV)

4 For [it is] impossible for those who were once enlightened, and have tasted of the heavenly gift, and were made partakers of the Holy Ghost,

5 And have tasted the good word of God, and the powers of the world to come,

6 If they shall fall away, to renew them again unto repentance; seeing they crucify to themselves the Son of God afresh, and put [him] to an open shame.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Hebrews 10:38 (KJV)

“Now the just shall live by faith: but if any man draw back, my soul shall have no pleasure in him.”

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Isaiah 59:2 (KJV)

But your iniquities have separated between you and your God, and your sins have hid his face from you, that he will not hear.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sin separates us.  We must continually (daily) repent of sins, known and unknown.  We MUST have a pure heart.  No sin will enter heaven.  When you ask Yahshua (Jesus) to come into your heart, the Holy Spirit abides in you.  The Holy Spirit will convict your heart when you sin to repent of those sins, that’s why you feel guilt.  If you hear in your heart the Holy Spirit and reject his message you are separated from Yahweh (God) by that sin.  You can not call yourself a Christian then pick and choose what in the Holy Bible you are willing to follow. You must follow all of Yahweh’s (God’s) word.  You are either all in or you are out.  If you say, I am a Christian and choose to sin and not repent. You lie to yourself.

I had fallen away from Christ, I was living a superficial (shallow) Christian life. I claimed to be a Christian. My walk though did not match my talk.  When I’d get mad, I’d cuss.  I didn’t have a truly forgiving or repentant heart (I held onto things I should have let go of). I’d get offended (real or imagined), I’d gossip, I’d wronged people (snubbing, holding grudges) and didn’t seek forgiveness. My pride needed to be dealt with, and I ignored it too. I fell away from Church and the Bible. I’d left sin unchecked.  I’d speak the words of the Bible.  I’d share Yahshua (Christ) with others but my heart was not right with Yahweh (God). I was aimlessly walking in the wilderness because of my foolishness.

If I’d have died during this time, it pains me to say but I would have gone to hell.  Sin can not enter Heaven. I would have heard these words.

Matthew 7:21-23 (NKJV)

21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. 22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

While I have never cast out demons in his name or done wonders.  I let SIN (lawlessness)  separate Yahweh (God) from me. I was filled with “my” selfish ways not his. I’m sure Satan was thrilled.  I, however, am not proud of this time.

Proverbs 14:14 (KJV)

“The backslider in heart shall be filled with his own ways: and a good man shall be satisfied from himself.”

We must repent daily.  We must seek him daily. We must pray daily.  We must get into his Holy Word daily.  We must keep his commandments and walk like him daily. In order to have, maintain and grow in your relationship with Christ, he must be put first in your life.

Pray the following.

Psalm 51:10-12 (KJV)

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.

11 Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me.

12 Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.

Psalm 139: 23-24 (KJV)

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:

24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

2 Chronicles 7:14 (KJV)

If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

God reminds us in Romans 6:23

Romans 6:23 (KJV)

23 For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

He instructs us what we must do to stand against the wiles of the evil one. Put on the whole Armor of God

Ephesians 6:11-18 (KJV)

11 Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.

12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

14 Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness;

15 And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace;

16 Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.

17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:

18 Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;

I praise Yahweh (God) for his patience with me.  I praise Yahweh (God) for his forgiveness.  I thank him for his love, grace and mercy.  All Praise and Glory be to Him for anything good in my life. I thank him for sending his son, Yahshua (Jesus Christ) to be the ultimate sacrifice for our sins and giving us the gift of salvation and eternal life for all who believe in him.

Please repent of your sins, don’t get like I did.  For we don’t know the day nor the hour we will take our last breath.  I thank Yahweh (God) for sparing me to make things right with him.  Life is a precious gift, use yours for Yahweh’s (God’s) glory.

I pray the day will come and he will say:

Matthew 25:21 (KJV)

21 His lord said unto him, Well done, thou good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.

May God Bless everyone who took the time to read this post.  Amen.

About asinnerneedinghersavior

I'm a Christian wife, Mother, and Grandmother. I love my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and want to share his word and my life lessons. Mark 16:15 (KJV) 15 And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Once saved, always saved?

  1. Anita says:

    I find I look forward to receiving AND reading these daily.

    Like

    • I praise and give God the Glory for the words he lays on my heart to share. I am thankful if they touch people and are received for his glory. I want God to use me for his kingdom. 💖 I’m just a sinner Blessed by my Savior’s love, grace and mercy. I love you Anita!

      Like

Leave a Reply

