Lord please guide my path

Narrow path - Broad path

Matthew 7:13-14 (KJV)

 13Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it.

14“For the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it.

Wide Path to our destruction

I know I was on the broad path not that long ago. I had been on the narrow path, but somewhere along life’s way I had taken a wrong turn, then another, then another and before I knew it I was lost. I looked around and saw I was on the broad road. Sadly, it’s easy to do if you aren’t disciplined.

Satan jumps for joy when he causes us to lose our way. I’m sure he probably keeps a journal recording all the people he has led to destruction.

I did fall away from church, reading my Bible became less important (snippets here and there), praying (was hit or miss) and many of my actions weren’t a reflection of the Lord who had saved me.  I prayed, but I’d forget sometimes, especially when I was too tired. More and more distractions and stumbling blocks would be placed in front of me.  At that time I was too blind to see what was really happening to me.

Then I lost my son. One reason that God sends suffering is to discipline His people when they are going astray.

Job 5:17-18 (KJV)

17 “Behold, how happy is the man whom God reproves, So do not despise the discipline of the Almighty.

18 “For He inflicts pain, and gives relief; He wounds, and His hands also heal.

To stay on the narrow path requires discipline. I had lost my discipline.

God brought me to my knees by allowing my son to be taken. He needed to get my attention and he got it.  When my son died, my world changed as I knew it.  My children and grandchildren are my world, God knew that. Cory, because of his struggles, consumed my attention. The fact is God should always be FIRST and without thinking, I’d demoted him to second.  What a disobedient child I was and God is a jealous God.

Deuteronomy 4:24 (KJV)

For the LORD thy God is a consuming fire, even a jealous God.

He wants your undivided attention.  He loves you and wants to be number one in your life. No person or thing should come before him.  If they do, then there is a problem.

I am glad that in my grief I didn’t blame God or become angry that he took my son. I, instead turned to him to help me through my grief. I honestly believe Job 5:18 He inflicts pain, and gives relief.  (This could also be looked at as discipline from God) Taking my son, he inflicted great pain.

Hebrews 12:11 (KJV)

11 Now no chastening for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous: nevertheless afterward it yieldeth the peaceable fruit of righteousness unto them which are exercised thereby.

From that chastening, by repenting, rededicating my life to Jesus and refocusing him to his place as number one; He has brought me much needed relief.  He has shielded me from the intense pain I had felt.  He has refocused my attention to moving forward to do his work.

I am thankful today I am back on the narrow path.  Praise God!  It is a daily process. Take up my cross and follow him DAILY!  In all things I must put him FIRST.  I have to leave my children and grandchildren in his hands. I need to leave my problems, struggles and distractions at the alter. I must focus on my relationship with Christ.  Dig deep into the word, intensify my prayer life and seek him always. Also, share salvation, and the love Jesus has for the lost. I have learned too, that I must also stress the difference between the narrow and broad paths.  I would hate to have someone find Jesus and start out on the narrow path only to find themselves on the board path by taking wrong turns like I did.

John 14:15

If ye love me, keep my commandments.

Proverbs 3:5-6

5 Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

i can do all things through Christ

I praise God for the work he is doing in me.

May you seek him and he will direct your path.

 

 

 

About asinnerneedinghersavior

I'm a Christian wife, Mother, and Grandmother. I love my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and want to share his word and my life lessons. Mark 16:15 (KJV) 15 And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

