He ain’t heavy, He’s my brother

1174662_10100726395719433_262801929_n

My oldest daughter Amanda and my son Cory (2013)

My oldest daughter Amanda is the most loving, compassionate, kindest, sweetest, giving, tenderhearted and empathetic of all my children.  Her heart swallows her it’s so big. She is a peacemaker. When people say she has a heart of gold, it’s a fact, she does!

She is the easiest to talk to.  She may not always agree with me (heck, I don’t always agree with me in the end of an argument) but she is always understanding and listens. She is very respectful. I am blessed that she is my daughter and my best friend. If God ever allows your path to cross hers you will be blessed too.

Romans 12:10 (KJV)

10 Be kindly affectioned one to another with brotherly love; in honour preferring one another;

When I was at my wits end with my son back in 2013, Amanda said “Mom send him down here to Florida, I’ll help him so he can get a fresh start”.  And she did. I am so proud of her for helping and loving her brother at a time he wasn’t the easiest to love.  Cory had gotten into trouble and he also had a problem with drugs.

So many siblings today couldn’t be bothered any more with helping a family member in need, but Amanda isn’t like most siblings.  She is one in a million, she loves all her siblings and if any of them called her, she would be there in a heartbeat!

10433060_10100946530317933_2845984732914024866_n

Cory and Amanda (July 2014)

After Cory moved down to Florida he would tell me, Mom it’s like having you here.  She is just like you.  I beamed, she loved him like I did, he didn’t know how lucky he was!  She was on him like I was, she’d ask him questions like I did and tried desperately to be supportive and keep him on the right track like I did. It showed me the incredible love she had for her brother. He knew how much she loved him, he loved her as much.

He looked up to her and was so PROUD of her. There is so much to be proud of, she was an AMAZING sister to him. She is an amazing daughter! She is an amazing wife and mother, she works hard at her full time job.  She shuttles the kids from baseball to gymnastics.  She works out almost everyday.  She runs marathons, makes the most beautiful cakes, gorgeous bracelets, and now decorative T-shirts in her “spare time”. She is so creative, smart and fun loving! There is seriously nothing she can’t do. She puts most people to shame!

He’d beam when he’d introduce her to his friends. They would all tell him how beautiful she was (inside and out), which Cory immediately agreed with being the proud (little, well standing over 6 ft tall he wasn’t so little) brother.  One guy Cory worked with down in Florida told Cory “he was going to marry that girl one day”.  Cory laughed, and told the guy 1) she is married but 2) he wasn’t good enough for his sister anyway! He was very protective of her. I’m not sure if he thought anyone was good enough for Amanda.

The one thing that would always get to Cory was when his sister would break down in tears.  It literally crushed him, he hated to see her cry.  Amanda is sensitive and tenderhearted. He would tell me he felt useless that he couldn’t fix her sadness.  She was always helping him and yet, in these times he couldn’t do anything to help her. I do know he hated to disappoint her, I don’t think she knows how much that bothered him.

I do believe God sent Cory to Amanda so they could spend quality time together and make memories for a season.  Cory was very blessed to have the best big sister a guy could ask for, she was there for him when he really needed her.

I thank God for my precious children, all four of them. They make me proud, they teach me lessons, they are my blessings, they truly are a gift from God himself.

siblings%20quote


About asinnerneedinghersavior

I'm a Christian wife, Mother, and Grandmother. I love my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and want to share his word and my life lessons. Mark 16:15 (KJV) 15 And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.
This entry was posted in Family - Children and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

